Home -> Guangzhou
Guangdong overview
Guangdong map
Main attractions
Have fun in Guangdong
Recomments from travlers to travelers
Pool tour
Travelogues
Flights to Guangdong
Discount Hotels in Guangdong
China Packages               More..
Guangdong Local tours         More..
Guangzhou
Yuexiu Park

This public park is Guangzhou¡¯s largest,covering an area of 860,000 square meters (212.5 acres).A short distance northwest of the main entrance is the Five Rams Statue(Wuyang shixiang),erected in 1959.Legend has it that,long ago,five rams (or goats) carrying an equal number of celestial beings,arrived in Guangzhou from on high.Each of the immortals wore a different coloured robe and carried a stem of rice,which they presented to the people as a sign that the area would be forever free from famine.From this story Guangzhou gets its nickname:City of Rams (or just Goat City).

  Five-storey Zhenhai Tower (Zhenhai Lou) was built in the late 14th century and is the only part of the old city wall still standing.The tower was occupied by the British and French troops at the time of the First Opium War and the 12 cannons in front date from this time.The tower now houses the Guangzhou City Museum(Guangzhoushi bowuguan),which displays some 700 exhibits tracing the history of the city and surrounding areas from Neolithic times until the early part of the 20th century.The upper storeys of the tower command a view of the city.


Museum of the Southern Yue Royal Mausoleum

Just opposite the main entrance to Yuexiu Park,this superb museum stands on the site of the tomb of Emperor Wen, the second ruler of the Southern Yue kingdom,dating back to 100BC. The Southern Yue kingdom is what the area around Guangzhou was called during the Western Han dynasty (206BC---AD8).

  The museum is composed of five exhibition rooms plus the tomb itself, discovered in 1983 some 20m under Xianggang Shan (Elephant Hill), Where you start your tour. Inside the tomb itself archaeologists found five funerary bodies --- four concubines, four cooks and seven eunuchs ---and more than 1000 sacrificial objects made of jade, including the dragon and phoenix ¡®ring¡¯, which has become the museum¡¯s symbol. The jade shroud covering the king¡¯s corpse is composed of almost 2300 pieces stitched together.


Dr Sun Yasten Monument

Dr Sun Yasten Monument £¬situated on the southern slope of Yuexiu Hill, was constructed between 1929 and 1931, a monument to Dr Sun Yat-sen, the forerunner of Chinese democratic revolution, by the people of Guangzhou and overseas Chinese.

The hall, a grand octagon building of typical Chinese architectural style, looks brand new because of reconstruction in 1998. The masterpiece of architecture history is created with a span of 71 meters (about 78 yards) without a pillar but significant outlooks and delicate interior designs. As an important place for conferences and performances, it can hold thousands of people with sound equipment. In the hall there is also a display gallery showing pictures and letters of Sun Yat-sen.

The oldest ceiba in Guangzhou City grows in the hall, like a centuries-old man, witnessing great changes of this city; besides, you can also have a chance to see the two biggest white jade orchid trees of Guangzhou.

A bronze statue of Sun Yat-sen was set up in 1956 in front of the memorial hall. Stepping on the monument by a steel spiral staircase, you are presented with a panoramic view of the memorial hall. Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall will refresh you after visiting the bustling commercial metropolis and provide you with a moment to touch this great man in Chinese history.


Chen Clan Ancestral Hall

Chen Clan Ancestral Hall is now the largest and best preserved and decorated ancient architecture existing in Guangdong Province and now the site of the Guangdong Folk Art Museum. It was designated as an important cultural relic under the State protection bythe state Council in 1986.

This ancestral temple was built between 1890 and 1894 during thereign of Emperor Guangxu of the Qing dynasty.It was built with donations of the Chen family then spread in 72 counties in Guangdong province. The temple used to provide lodgings for candidates of the Chen family who came to Guangdong to prepare for imperial examinationsin Guangzhou.

Covering an area of 15,000 square meters, the temple, having arectangular structure as its main building, comprises 19 buildings. Itis known for its beautiful decoration, which combines wood carving,brick carving, stone carving, clay sculpture, ash sculpture, brass andiron foundry, grotto, new year ainting and other art forms. The special historical, art and scientific values have made it an important attraction in Guangzhou.


Temple of Bright Filial Piety

The Temple of Bright Filial Piety on Guangxiao Road is one of the oldest Buddhist temples in Guangzhou and was the mansion of Prince Zhao Jiande of the Nanyue Kingdom during the Western Han Dynasty (206 B.C.-A.D.24).

The temple was initially built by an Indian monk during the Eastern Jin Dynasty (317- 420) but the present temple, occupying an area of 31,000 square meters, dates from the Qing Dynasty (1644 - 1911). The temple has an important place in Buddhist history as Huineng of the Zen Buddhist sect was a novice monk here in the 7th century.

The Sixth Ancestor Hall in the temple was built in memory of Huineng, the sixth master of the Zen Sect of Buddhism, who is widely considered the most influential monk in the history of Chinese Buddhism. In the temple there is also a pagoda where Huineng¡®s hair was buried. Other ancient structures in the temple include Sakyamuni Hall, Samgharama Hall, the King of Heaven Hall, and two iron towers.

Temple of the Six Banyan Trees

Situated on Liurong Road, this world famous ancient Buddhist temple was built in 537 in the Liang dynasty during the Southern dynasties (386-581). More than 1460 years ago in the Liang dynasty, Emperor Liangwu ordered the master priest, Tanyu to built Baozhuangyan Temple to store the Buddhist bones brought from Kampuchea. During the Northern Song dynasty, a great writer - Su Shi, on a visit to this temple was attracted by the six banyan trees surrounding it and wrote the inscription "Liu Rong" (Six Banyan Trees). This temple has since been known as Temple of the Six Banyan Trees. The temple was burned and rebuilt in the Northern Song dynasty (960-1127). The major structure in this temple is the Flowery Pagoda, built in 1097. Named for its colorful exterior, this 57 meter high pagoda is in the center of the temple, with a bronze column with 1,000 Buddhist sculptures on top. To the west of the pagoda is Grand Hall, a magnificent hall rebuilt in 1983 with an area of 300 square meters. In this hall are enshrined three huge images: Sakyamuni in the middle, Amitabha on the left and Maitreya on the right. These elaborate brass images were made in 1633 during the Qing dynasty. Each of the images is 6m high and weighs 10 tons, and are the largest existing ancient brass images in Guangdong province. In the Banyan Garden, there is Hall of Liuzu, where the copper image of Liuzu - the sixth generation of China¡®s Buddhist master was enshrined. This life-like image is 1.8 meters high and weighs 1 ton. It was meticulously cast in 989 in the Northern Song dynasty.


White Cloud Hills

White Cloud Hills,in the northern suburbs of Guangzhou,are an adjunct to of the Dayu Range (Dayu Ling),the chief group of mountains in Guangdong.In total there are more than 30 peaks that were once dotted with temples and monasteries.It¡¯s a good hike up to the top --- or a leisurely walk down if you take the cable car --- and a lovely respite from the polluted city below.
Star Touching Peak (Moxing Ling) at 382m is the highest point in the hills.Local people rate the vista from a precipice called White Cloud Evening View (Baiyun WanWang) as one of the eight greatest sights of Guangzhou.

Famous as a resort since the Tang and Song dynasties,the hills have been thematically restored to attract tourists and now boast a number of attractions including the Mingchun Valley Aviary (Mingchungu Niaoyuan),which features a wide variety of bird species.The restored Nengren Temple (Nengren si),a short walk from the cable car¡¯s upper station,is also worth a visit.


     Photo Album of Guangdong